Biography

Megan Kruse is a fiction and creative nonfiction writer from the Pacific Northwest. She studied creative writing at Oberlin College and earned her MFA at the University of Montana, where she was awarded a Bertha Morton scholarship. Her creative writing has appeared in Narrative Magazine, The Sun, Witness Magazine, Thumbnail Magazine, Bellingham Review, and Phoebe, among others.

Kruse’s short story, “Dollywood,” which originally appeared in Witness Magazine, is one of 100 Other Distinguished Stories listed in Best American Short Stories 2011, edited by Geraldine Brooks. “Lila” appeared in Portland Noir, an anthology from Akashic Books (2009), and is currently being developed as an independent feature-length film. Her essay, “The Trailer,” was published in Portland Queer: Tales from the Rose City (2009), which won a 2010 Lambda Award for queer literature. Her nonfiction essay “Ballads” won the Bellingham Review’s Annie Dillard Award for Creative Nonfiction in 2007.

Kruse has received residency grants from the Kimmel-Harding-Nelson Center in Nebraska City, NE (2004, 2012), the New York Mills Regional Cultural Center in New York Mills, Minnesota (2012), and the Ragdale Foundation of Lake Forest, Illinois (2005). In 2005 she was the recipient of an Oregon Literary Arts fellowship, and she received nominations for the Pushcart Prize in 2005, 2006, and 2011. Currently Kruse is the 2015-2016 Visiting Writer-in-Residence at Eastern Oregon University’s Low-Residency MFA program, and one of the National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 for 2015. She lives in Seattle. Call Me Home  is her first novel.

Titles

Call Me Home:
A Novel

  • Introduction by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • fiction

Megan Kruse is a young writer of raw and fearless talent.

Elizabeth Gilbert
Eat, Pray, Love

Call Me Home has an epic scope in the tradition of Louise Erdrich’s The Plague of Doves or Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping and braids the stories of a family in three distinct voices: Amy, who leaves her Texas home at nineteen to start a new life with a man she barely knows, and her two...Forward

Readings and events

There are currently no events featuring Ms. Kruse on the calendar.

News

On the Hawthorne Books Blog

Elsewhere