News Release

Hawthorne Books Releases Poe Ballantine’s Love & Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere (Pub date: 9/1/13) with an Introduction by Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild, who says, “This is his best book ever.”

For immediate release 16 Apr 2013

Contact: 503-327-8849 rhughes@hawthornebooks.com |

“Mark Twain would have admired his wit,” said Tom Robbins. Fans of Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood and John Berendt’s In the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine’s Love & Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere. Poe Ballantine and his young bride move from Mexico to Chadron, Nebraska, and become parents to a son who may be autistic. Poe’s neighbor, a math professor at Chadron State College, disappears and three months later is found burned to death and tied to a tree in the woods. What happened to him? Was it murder? Suicide? Poe and a cast of memorable characters from Chadron aim to find out.  “A kind of highly readable William Vollman,” says Robbie Egan, Readings: Book Music Film.

Stephen Elliott says, “The Rumpus book club this month is reading Poe Ballantine’s Love & Terror On The Howling Plains Of Nowhere, and everyone is going apeshit. I mean, stark raving mad. People love the hell out of this book.”

A ten-city book tour is planned to include joint appearances with Cheryl Strayed, along with a book trailer and film documentary simultaneously released starring Poe Ballantine.

Poe Ballantine currently lives in Chadron, Nebraska.

Hawthorne Books
2201 NE 23rd Avenue, Third Floor, Portland, OR 97212
503-327-8849

Hawthorne Books is distributed by PGW (800-788-3213 / www.pgw.com).